Singapore Prize and NUS Singapore History Prize Winners Announced

The Singapore prize recognises exceptional published works across the country’s four languages: Chinese, English, Malay, and Tamil. The winner receives S$25,000 (about US$19,000), a trophy, and a certificate. The award has drawn top-quality entries from some of the region’s most renowned authors over the years. The prize is one of the oldest in Asia, and has a long history of promoting reading among Singaporeans.

This year’s winners were announced at a glittering ceremony at the MediaCorp theatre, co-hosted by Ted Lasso actress Hannah Waddingham and Golden Globe actor Sterling K Brown. The bands One Republic and Bastille, as well as singer Bebe Rexha, performed for the audience at the glitzy ceremony. The evening also featured speeches from Singapore ministers and former New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern, who is a trustee of the Prince Charles-funded Earthshot initiative.

This is the third year of the Earthshot awards, which aims to identify and celebrate solutions to repair our planet. The finalists were selected from more than 400 applications. The event was attended by Cate Blanchett, Lana Condor, Robert Irwin, Nomzamo Mbatha, and Donnie Yen, who each presented an award made of recycled materials to the winners.

In his speech, the Prince of Wales highlighted the importance of collaboration between governments, businesses, and private entities to solve the world’s problems. He said the winners of this year’s competition are helping to make a difference by working together to tackle climate change. He also praised the award’s sponsors, who have contributed to the awards through funding and in-kind support.

On his arrival in Singapore, the Prince of Wales was treated to a spectacular view at Changi airport when he stepped out onto the Rain Vortex, a 40-meter high indoor waterfall that is lit green for the occasion. The heir to the British throne has been visiting the city to promote his Earthshot initiative, which seeks to identify and celebrate innovative solutions to global warming.

The NUS Singapore History Prize, meanwhile, was awarded to historian Prof Miksic for his work “Singapore: An Untold Story.” His book is an in-depth study of the country’s early development and establishes it as part of the larger Asian story. It was published in 2013.

Prof Miksic says he didn’t expect to win the prize, and he hopes his book will inspire others to do more archaeological research in Southeast Asia. His work is based on more than a decade of excavations, including those at Fort Canning and Old Parliament House.

This year, the winner of the film category was Gabriela Serrano for her film “Please Bear With Me.” The filmmaker was given a fellowship prize that includes a residency and/or script mentorship. Rein Maychaelson of the industry-facing Southeast Asian Film Lab won a special mention for his work “Every Mall Burns the Same.” This is the second time his film has been shortlisted.