The Sidney Prize and the Dame Helen Mirren/Sidney Hook Awards

sidney prize

The Sydney prize honours writers and journalists who write about issues that impact the public. The prize is backed by the City of Sydney and the Herald, who each provide $1000, digital subscriptions and newsroom tours for the winners. The runner-ups will receive $500 each and a chance to pitch four additional pieces for the Herald. The winning entries are published in the Herald and showcase the quality and originality of journalism that Sydney is famous for.

The Black Lives Matter movement has won this year’s Sydney Peace Prize. The Movement, founded in the US by Patrisse Cullors, Alicia Garza and Opal Tometi following the 2013 acquittal of George Zimmerman in the killing of Trayvon Martin, promotes human rights and non-violence. The Prize is presented at an official ceremony in November and includes a cash award, a speech by a prominent figure, and a plaque commemorating the work of its winner.

A former Sidney student and junior research fellow has won one of history’s most prestigious awards for her book on royalist ideas in seventeenth century Scotland. Dr Clare Jackson is the winner of the Dame Helen Mirren/Sidney Hook Award for the best historical work on religion in North America and is to be published by Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture and the University of North Carolina Press in 2022.

Sidney Myer is a philanthropist and businessman who has donated more than $1.2 billion to the arts, hospitals and educational institutions in Australia. His contribution to the arts has ensured that the world’s leading musicians, actors and dancers are able to perform here and that the country is home to some of the finest theatres, art galleries and opera houses in the world.

In addition to his charitable work, Sidney Myer has also established a number of scholarships and professorships at Hamilton College in New York. One such scholarship is specifically for female engineering students and aims to demonstrate that women can be as successful in the field as men.

The Society for the History of Technology’s most prestigious book prize, the Sidney Edelstein Prize, has been awarded to York University professor Edward Jones-Imhotep for his work “The Unreliable Nation: Disaster and History in the Age of Modern Science”. The prize is named after the late Sidney Edelstein, a distinguished historian of technology.

The physics community has long celebrated the importance of connecting the social, cultural, and humanistic dimensions of science with its core discipline. In recognition of this, the American Institute for Physics (AIP) has awarded a 2023 Sidney Prize to physicist and author Sidney Perkowitz. AIP congratulates him on this honor and on his enduring commitment to bridge the gap between physics, the media, literature, and the arts. This article originally appeared on AIP’s website on October 17, 2023. It is republished here with permission from AIP. For more information about the AIP, visit AIP 2023. All rights reserved. This material may be distributed freely for educational purposes, provided that the appropriate credit is given.